skip to Main Content
California Seismic Safety Commission

In 1975 the Seismic Safety Commission was established to advise the Governor, Legislature, and state and local governments on ways to reduce earthquake risk.  In 2006 the name was revised to the name to the Alfred E. Alquist Seismic Safety Commission.  Senate Bill 1278 (Alquist, 2006) made changes to the Seismic Safety Act that included moving the Commission under the California State and Consumer Services Agency and adding three more members to the Commission.  The Commission is composed of 20 commissioners chosen for their expertise and experience.  Fifteen members are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate, one member appointed by the Senate Rules Committee, one member appointed by the Speaker of the Assembly, a representative from Building Standards Commission, a representative from the State Architect’s office, and a representative from Cal EMA. The Alfred E. Alquist Seismic Safety Commission elects annually from its membership its own chairman and vice chairman and can replace them with other commissioners by a majority vote. Commissioners must be residents of California. The term of office for each member of the Seismic Safety Commission is approximately four years.

The Commission investigates earthquakes, researches earthquake-related issues and reports, and recommends to the Governor and Legislature policies and programs needed to reduce earthquake risk.  Among the duties of the Commission are:

  • Managing California’s Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program
  • Reviewing seismic activities funded by the State
  • Providing a consistent policy direction for earthquake-related programs for agencies at all government levels
  • Proposing and reviewing earthquake-related legislation
  • Conducting public hearings on seismic safety issues
  • Recommending earthquake safety programs to governmental agencies and the private sector
  • Investigating and evaluating earthquake damage and reconstruction efforts following damaging earthquakes

The fire protection representative is shown below.  Select the following link for a full list of Seismic Safety Commissions members

Tim Strack – Captain
Riverside Fire Department
3085 St. Lawerence Street
Riverside, CA 92504
(951) 237-8518 or